To A Whole New Town

Tales from an American girl living in Denmark

The best place in Copenhagen to hang out with dead Danes – Week Two

I did a lot of walking over the Easter break. It helped me reacquaint myself with Nørrebro, which is the same neighbourhood I used to live in when I was studying here three years ago. The walking also kept me from biting my nails off over stupid things like trying to cancel my mobile contract in the U.S. and not being able to for a laundry list of reasons created by Verizon Wireless solely to infuriate helpless customers.

One of my favourite* things in this area is the giant cemetery, Assistens Kirkegård. Haha, I know – me? Gravitating toward the cemetery? Shocking. But it’s not just a regular cemetery. It’s more a public park that happens to be filled with gravestones and beautiful Secret Garden-esque paths. Some of Denmark’s most famous are buried there including Søren Kirkegård (as the name suggests), and Hans Christian Andersen.

DSC_0912 DSC_0909

On the outer paths you will see joggers, cyclists, and people taking short cuts home. Further into the centre of the grounds people are having picnics with friends, or sitting for a few moments of still reflection before rejoining the hustle of life. It’s a comforting combination of birdsong, distant bells, and other ambient city sounds.

DSC_0915 DSC_0920

I also went to an interesting bar called Drone located along the Nørrebrogade stretch. Nørrebrogade is one of the main streets in the Nørrebro neighbourhood with a lot of good dive type bars.

IMG_7709

IMG_7680

It’s pretty smokey inside, but the DJ’s music choice was fairly good, and after midnight a large crowd of people showed up to dance to retro rock in the basement level.

In other news, grocery shopping is really difficult when you can hardly read the ingredients anymore. Shopping for festival/camping food is one thing. Trying to maintain your healthy, everyday diet is another. Danish grocery stores have a million and one versions of milk, yoghurt, and cheese, but Kefir doesn’t seem to be among these offerings, unfortunately. Icelandic Skyr is the closest I’ve been able to get so far. Nevertheless, I’m not starving.

The first yield.

The first yield.

There’s an organic, local product health food store in the Amager neighborhood that I’m planning to check out soon. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

*I am not intentionally spelling everything the British way. My darling MBP is autocorrecting my spelling for the region I’m typing it from. Just want to clear my name of any poser-y spelling.

2 comments on “The best place in Copenhagen to hang out with dead Danes – Week Two

  1. Sharon Pearson
    16/04/2015

    Very interesting post. I like old cemeteries too, as they are a good place for absorbing history, and gaining perspective, and enjoying peace. The “distant bells” you spoke of stirred my heart, as it’s a sound I love.

    • Agreed. I’ve always loved the peace of cemeteries and taking a few moments to just be still. And yeah, there really is something about bells… I rarely hear bells in the U.S., but I can always count on them when I’m bouncing around Europe.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 15/04/2015 by in Europe and tagged , .
Follow To A Whole New Town on WordPress.com

Archives

