To A Whole New Town

Tales from an American girl living in Denmark

June 11th 2012

Today we split our day between The Danish Design Center and Freetown Christania. The Design Center had so much to look at that I didn’t realize I’d missed the entire top floor until our group was gathering up to leave. Oops. I won’t lie – I’m moving a little slow today. The ground floor and downstairs that I did see, however, was impressive for the most part. When I’m somewhere with so many good ideas collected into one space I feel a combination of awe, inspiration, and overwhelmed. I spent a lot of time going through the hallways and rooms sectioned off to show new innovative materials, and old repurposed old ones. One exhibit in an adjacent room that really stood out to me was a collection of jeans made from fabric that purify the air. I can think of more than one reason why that’s a brilliant feature in a pair of pants. Wild, huh?

After a short break we made our way over to Christania and spent a few hours poking around there. I wasn’t impressed or unimpressed because it was exactly what I expected. It kind of felt like a tailgate party before a jam show at Red Rocks Amphitheater. Weed, rasta colors, people lounging around, overpriced cheap stuff for sale.  It seems like a fun place to go every so often, but not a weekly hang out for me anyway.  The coolest thing about Christania from my perspective is the politics surrounding it and the social statements it makes.  Its evolution over time will be interesting to follow, and I’m glad I can say I’ve been there. I wanted to take pictures of some of the neat artwork inside the gates, but I respected the no photo policy as tempting as it was to sneak a few.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/06/2012 by in Europe and tagged .
Follow To A Whole New Town on WordPress.com

Archives

